1-877-896-3550|Live Help
FREE SHIPPING! - For All Orders Over $99 - Use Coupon Code MDCFR - See Details- Offer Ends 6/30/2017
Home | Camo Facts | Hunting Law Summary for All 50 States

Hunting Law Summary for All 50 States

Below is a very brief summary of some of the most-frequently sought information about hunting licenses. Most states that require hunters’ education have a grandfathering date. If you were born before this date (which can range from the 1920s to the 1970s), you may be exempt from hunters’ education requirements. In addition, if you have a hunters’ education certificate from your own state, it is generally transferrable.

The representative price selected is either the deer hunting license or the small game hunting rate in 2013, and is offered only for comparison purposes. The final column of the table provides a link to the state’s hunting statutes so you can examine the hunting laws in detail if you desire.

State Hunter Ed Required? Youth Permit? (Age Ranges) Lottery for Big Game Permits? Representative Price:
General or Deer Resident (Nonresident)
Statutes
Alabama Y N (<15 no license required) N $25.05 ($287.45) Title 9 Chapter 11
          2nd Resource:
Title 9 Chapter 11
          3rd Resource:
Title 9 Chapter 11
Alaska Y N (<16 no license required for residents) Y $25.00 ($85.00) Title 16
Arizona Y N (<14 no license required) Y $32.25 ($151.25) Title 17
Arkansas Y N (<16 no license required for residents) Elk only $25.00 ($300.00) Title 15 Subtitle 4
California Y Y (<16) Y $44.85 ($155.52) Fish and Game Code
Colorado Y Y (12-17) Y $31.00 ($351.00) Title 33 Articles 1-8
Connecticut Y Y (12-15) Y $19.00 ($91.00) Title 26
Delaware Y Y (13-15) Y (Some sites) $25.00 (Reciprocal) Title 7
Florida Y N (8-16) Y (Antlerless deer, alligator) $17.00 ($151.00) Chapter 379
Georgia Y N (<16 no license required for residents) Y $9.00 ($105.00) Title 27
Hawaii Y N Y (Sheep, deer) $10.00 ($95.00) Title13
Idaho Y Y (12-17) Y $12.75 ($154.75) Title 36
Illinois Y Y (<16) Y (deer) $12.00 ($57.75) Chapter 520
Indiana Y Y (<17) Y (Some sites) $17.00 ($80.00) Title 14, Article 22
Iowa Y N (<16 no license required for residents) Y (muzzleloader & 2+ deer) $19.00 ($112.00) Title 11, subtitle 6
Kansas Y N (<16 no license required for residents) Y $20.50 ($72.50) Chapter 32
Kentucky Y Y (12-15) Y (Some sites) $20.00 ($130.00) Chapter 150
Louisiana Y N (<16 no license required for residents) N $29.00 ($300.00) Title 56
Maine Y Y (10-15) Y $25.00 ($114.00) Title 12 (Part 3)
Maryland Y Y (<16) Y (Some sites) $24.50 ($130.00) Natural Resources
Massachusetts Y N (<15 no license required) N $27.50 ($99.50) Chapter 131
Michigan Y Y (<16, must be 10+ to hunt bear, elk) Y $15.00 ($138.00) Chapters 300-317
Minnesota Y Y (10-17) Y $30.00 ($165.00) Chapters 97-102
Mississippi Y N N $17.00 ($300.00) Title 49
Missouri Y Y (6,11-15) Managed Deer Only $17.00 ($225.00) Title 3
Montana Y Y (12-14) Y (except first deer) $16.00 ($570.00) Title 87
Nebraska Y Y (<15) Y $30.00 ($209.00) Chapter 37
Nevada Y Y (12-15,16-17) Y $33.00 ($142.00) Title 45
New Hampshire Y N (<16 no license required for residents) Y (Moose) $22.00 ($103.00) Title 18
New Jersey Y Y (10-15) Y $27.50 ($135.50) Title 23
New Mexico N (18+) N Y $30.00 ($65.00) Chapter 17
New York Y (Unless you have a prior license) Y (12-13, 14-15) Y (Antlerless deer) $29.00 ($140.00) Environmental Conservation
North Carolina Y N (<16 no license required for residents) N $25.00 ($100.00) Chapter 113
North Dakota Y Y (<16) Y $20.00 ($220.00) Title 20.1
Ohio Y Y (<17) Y (Managed hunts) $19.00 ($125.00) Chapter 1533
Oklahoma Y (Ages 8-30) Y (16-17) Y (Controlled hunts) $52.00 ($280.00) Title 800
Oregon Y (< Age 17) Y (14-17) Y $54.00 ($516.00) Chapters 496-513
Pennsylvania Y (Ages 12-16) Y (12-16) Y (Elk only) $20.70 ($101.70) Title 58
Rhode Island Y (Non-vets without prior license) Y (12-14) Y (Some sites) $30.50 ($70.50) Title 20
South Carolina Y N (<16 no license required for residents) Y (PDH only) $18.00 ($125.00) Title 50
South Dakota Y (12-15) Y (12-15,16-18) Y $52.00 ($125.00) Title 41
Tennessee Y N (<13 no license required for residents) Y (Elk only) $28.00 ($91.00) Title 70
Texas Y Y (<17) N $25.00 ($315.00) Parks and Wildlife Code Title 5
Utah Y Y (<13) Y $26.00 ($65.00) Title 23
Vermont Y Y (<18) Y $22.00 ($110.00) Title 10.113
Virginia Y (ages 12-15 and 1st-time hunters) Y (12-15) Y (Quota hunts only) $23.00 ($111.00) Title 29.1
Washington Y Y (<16) Y $66.90 ($531.10) Title 77
West Virginia Y Y (15-17) N $19.00 ($119.00) Chapter 20
Wisconsin Y Y (10-17) Y (Bobcat, black bear) $18.00 ($85.00) Chapter 29
Wyoming Y Y (12-17) Y $38.00 ($312.00) Title 23
Sign up to receive sales and coupon deals by email.
Our Customers Say ...

Excellent service. I got my order very quickly and when I had questions they were quick to answer them. I would recommend them and will shop there again!!! John, NY ... read more

Become a fan on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Order By Phone
1-877-896-3550
Customer Service
1-877-208-6215 - info@CamoTrading.com
Petronic Site Tracker
BBB Online Secure Shopping We accept Mastercard, Visa
© 2016 CamoTrading, All rights reserved.
Camo Trading, P.O. Box 297, Jenks, OK 74037-0297